press release

Press Release: “Marianne” sailors still imprisoned in Israel

It has been more than 50 hours since Israeli navy attacked the “Marianne” in international waters, 100nm from Gaza, during one of its usual acts of State piracy, always behaving as the bullying state of eastern Mediterranean. 18 participants on board were kidnapped and brought by force and against their will to the military Ashdod port. During the operation of seizure of the “Marianne”, which IDF called “uneventful”, Israeli soldiers used violence against participants on board.

Dr. Bassel Ghattas (Member of Knesset), Dr. Moncef Marzouki (ex-President of Tunisia), Ana Miranda (Member of European Parliament) and Ohad Hemo (Channel 2 journalist), were released and the rest were moved to Givon prison at Ramla area, where they remain hostages until this moment.

The Freedom Flotilla Coalition stands with all sailors of the “Marianne” who are illegaly kept in the Israeli prison. We demand that the State of Israel immediately releases them and also returns the “Marianne of Gothenberg”. We demand that our governments condemn violence of the State of Israel against peaceful citizens and stand by the rights of the Palestinian people.

The remaining “Marianne” passengers still in Israeli prison are:


Nadya Kevorkova Russia
Kajsa Ekis Ekman Sweden
Robert Lovelace Canada
Joel Opperdoes Sweden
Gustave Bergstrom Sweden
Herman Reksten Norway
Kevin Neish Canada
Jonas Karlin Sweden
CharlieAndreasson Sweden
Ammar Al-Hamdan Norway
Mohammed El Bakkali Morocco
Dror Feiler Sweden
Ruwani Perera New Zealand
Jacob Bryant New Zealand